Cricket - Featured - January 12, 2020

Bumrah, Poonam to receive Polly Umrigar Award

India’s pace spearhead Jasprit Bumrah is set to add another feather to his cap. Bumrah will receive the prestigious Polly Umrigar Award as the best male cricketer for India (2018-19) by the BCCI. 

The lethal pacer shall be awarded during the BCCI Annual Awards in Mumbai this evening. Alongside Bumrah, Poonam Yadav shall receive the Best Women’s player for the past season. 

After being a regular in white-ball cricket, Bumrah soon made his Test debut for India. Since making his debut in January 2018, he has risen in the longest format as well. He has proved himself to be wicket taking bowler in all formats of the game. This ability makes him one of India’s lethal weapons as far as the pace attack is concerned. He is also the first Asian to have five-wicket hauls in Australia, England, South Africa and the West Indies. Bumrah has 62 wickets to his name in only as many as 12 tests since his debut. He ranks among the top players with an average of 19.24. Bumrah played a key role in India winning it’s first ever test series down under. The BCCI shall present him with a trophy, a citation as well as a cash prize of INR 15 Lakh. 

While Bumrah takes top honours for mens, Poonam takes top honours for women’s category

Bumrah, Poonam to receive Polly Umrigar Award
Poonam Yadav

On the other hand, Poonam Yadav is the top ODI wicket-taker for the last two years. She also has an exceptional performance in the T20 format. In 2018-19, she has 51 wickets to her name at an average of 16.27. Apart from being recognized as the Best Female cricketer by the BCCI, she has won the Arjuna Award last year. 

It will be a special evening in Mumbai as we will also have the 7th MAK Pataudi lecture and I am delighted to inform that it will be Virender Sehwag who will address the gathering.” BCCI president Sourav Ganguly said.

India’s former World Cup winning opener Kris Srikkanth will receive the Lifetime Achievement Award. Anjum Chopra, the first Indian woman to feature in 100 ODI’s shall also receive the same.

We wanted to make Naman [the BCCI awards] bigger and better and have introduced four new categories – highest run-getter and wicket-takers in WODIs and best international debut men and women – from this year. A total of 25 awards will be presented,” board secretary Jay Shah said. 

The winners of the BCCI awards 2018-19

Kris Srikkanth – Col CK Nayudu Lifetime achievement award

Anjum Chopra – BCCI lifetime achievement award for women

Dilip Doshi – BCCI special award

Cheteshwar Pujara – Dilip Sardesai highest run-getter in Test cricket

Jasprit Bumrah – Dilip Sardesai highest wickets in Test cricket

Smriti Mandhana – Highest run-getter in women’s ODIs

Jhulan Goswami – Highest wickets in women’s ODIs

Mayank Agarwal – Best international debut (men)

Shafali Verma – Best international debut (women)

Shivam Dube (Mumbai) – Lala Amarnath award for best allrounder in Ranji Trophy cricket

Nitish Rana (Delhi) – Lala Amarnath award for best allrounder in limited-overs competitions

Milind Kumar (Sikkim) – Madhavrao Scindia award for highest run-getter in Ranji Trophy

Ashutosh Aman (Bihar) – Madhavrao Scindia award for highest wicket-taker in Ranji Trophy

Vidarbha – Best performance in BCCI domestic tournaments


Check Also

Australia Climb to Top of ICC Test and T20I Rankings

As per the latest ICC rankings, Australia is the new number 1 ranked Test and T20I side (m…