Cricket - October 17, 2019

Devdutt Padikkal drives Karnataka through Elite Group of Vijay Hazare Trophy 2019-20

Karnataka crusade their way into the Quarter Finals of Vijay Hazare Trophy 2019-20.

Devdutt Padikkal

Karnataka thrashed out an ultimate show as they beat Goa by 8 wickets. The three-time Vijay Hazare titleholders Karnataka are in great form and they are walking out of Elite Group as the table toppers with 28 points.

Put in to bat first at KSCA Alur Cricket Stadium, Goa posted a low figure score of 171/10 in 47.5 Overs on the board, thanks to contributions from their bowlers Karnataka limited Goa at low.

Karnataka openers KL Rahul (9) and Devdutt Padikkal put up a decent 40-run partnership for the fall of the first wicket. One down Karun Nair (21) could not convert his start but, then it was the other opener Devdutt Padikkal who kept on going at the other end.

Karnataka Skipper Manish Pandey joined Devdutt at the crease where the due posted a good looking partnership. It was the youngster Devdutt brought up his ton and it was his second consecutive century for Karnataka in the ongoing series. It took 105 deliveries for Karnataka’s new batting sensation to bring up his century.

No bowlers, except Lakshay Garg and Amit Verma, showed the resistance as others meekly surrendered to Karnataka’s batting brilliance. Eventually, in the end, Devdutt remained 102* and Manish 34* Karnataka chased down the target in 34.2 overs. Manish Pandey finished the things off in style for Karnataka.

After the win, Karnataka is topping the Elite Group A and B with Punjab tailing them in the second spot. Goa has finished it’s campaign as the bottom of the table with just a single win from their tally of eight matches. With the end result Karnataka, Punjab and Chattisgarh are into the play-offs round with the defending champions Mumbai looking for some luck to make it into the play-offs.

Brief Scores:

Goa 171 all-out (Aditya Kaushik 75, Darshan Misal 33 not out; Pravin Dubey 3-29) lost to Karnataka 177/2 (Devdutt Padikka 102 not out, Manish Pandey 34 not out; Lakshay Garg 1-27) by 8 wickets. Karnataka 4 points, Goa 0 points.

Check Also

What is happening with Royal Challengers Bangalore’s Social Media Handles?

It is that time of the year when we’re just a month and a half away from the Indian Premie…