Football - ISL - Uncategorized - 2 weeks ago

Golden Ball winners of each ISL season

Golden Ball presented to most valuable player of the season also called as ‘Hero of the season’. Golden Ball is reward for the invulnerable impact and outstanding performance in the tournament. List includes some big names so let’s have a look at every Golden Ball winner of ISL.

Golden Ball winners list

Ian Hume (2014)

Ian Hume Golden Ball winner

Kerala Blasters FC drafted Ian Hume for ISL’s debut season. Canadian striker scored first goal of club’s history against Chennaiyin FC on 2-1 away loss in opening game. He earned first point of club’s history when he scored an equaliser against Atletico de Kolkata on 1-1 draw five days later. In last game of the season, Hume scored winner and only goal of the match against FC Pune City and helped club to qualify in playoffs. Hume was instrumental in getting Kerala Blasters FC to the final with five goals and three assists in 16 appearances.

Hume famous for his nickname ‘Humettan’ was voted best player of the league. After losing final to Atletico de Kolkata by 0-1 in injury-time, he won Golden Ball award on inaugural season of ISL.

Stiven Mendoza (2015)

Stiven Mendoza Golden Ball winner

Chennaiyin FC striker John Stiven Mendoza was declared ‘Hero of the League’ rewarded Golden Ball as well as the Golden Boot after they won ISL final in 2015. The Colombian won two penalties and scored a last-gasp winner in stoppage time to land Chennaiyin FC the title after they narrowly missed out on a place in the final first season. Mendoza emerged as Messiah for machans on historic day. ISL 2015 will be remember for his heroics forever as he became first player to win Golden Boot and Golden Ball in same season.

Florent Malouda (2016)

Florent Malouda and Marcelinho
Delhi Dynamos signed Florent Malouda in 2015 season but his profilic performance came in 2016. Former Chelsea star was named the ‘Hero of the League’ and won Golden Ball award. The Champions League winner captained Delhi Dynamos side, was dominating throughout the tournament controlling the games from the midfield. Delhi Dynamos dominated almost all of the attacking statistics and he was pillar behind that success.

Sunil Chhetri (2017-18)

Sunil Chhetri
Bengaluru FC lost ISL final in their debut season against Chennaiyin FC by 3-2. BFC skipper Sunil Chhetri was named hero of ISL’s fourth edition for his leadership and goalscoring prowess. He was the highest Indian goalscorer with 14 goals and third in the overall list behind Ferran Corominas and Miku Fedor. Sunil Chhetri is first and only Indian player to achieve this feat.

Ferran Corominas (2018-19)

Coro and Brandon Fernandes
Coro scored 16 goals and seven assists in 20 appearances and helped Goa to reach ISL finals. But final defeat from Sunil Chhetri’s Bengaluru FC upset him. Coro became second player in the history of ISL to win Golden Boot and Ball in same season after Stiven Mendoza. Coro dominated that season at every attacking statistics but fell short on final day. Repeating successful season is tough task for players but Coro repeated his success in 2018-19 season with double impact.

Hugo Boumous (2019-20)

Hugo Boumous Golden Ball winner
FC Goa signed Hugo Boumous in 2017-18 mid-season, he took responsibilities of midfield after departure of Manuel Lanzarote. French-Moroccan had a peerless run in 2019-20 season notching 11 goals and recording 10 assists in 15 appearances. FC Goa were favourites to win ISL after winning league shield and AFC Champions League spot. But FC faced major defeat in the first leg of the ISL semi-finals in his absence. Boumous won Golden Ball for for his contribution in 2019-20 season and became first player in history to score double digit goals and assists.

Check Also

SNQ Daily, 30 July: Newcastle, Reus, Infantino, Anand

Updating our readers with major sports news and updates of 30 July 2020. 30 July Bulletin …