Exclusive - Featured - Football - ISL - Uncategorized - September 1, 2020

Golden Glove winners of each ISL season

The Indian Super League Golden Glove is an award recognizing the best goalkeeper in of Indian Super League in an season. Conceded goals per minutes is main parameter of the award.

Golden Glove winners:

Jan Šeda (ISL 1)

ISL 1 Golden Glove winner Jan Šeda

Czech goalkeeper joined FC Goa on loan from FK Mlada Boleslav for ISL debut season. Šeda made 14 appearances and kept seven clean sheets. He spent whole season as first choice goalkeeper for club and was awarded with the Golden Glove. ISL Golden Glove helped Šeda to earn place in FK Mlada Boleslav. Šeda still plays for Mlada Boleslav and kept second most clean sheets in club’s history.

Apoula Edel Bete (ISL 2)

Apoula Edel Bete

Former PSG goalkeeper was drafted to Atletico de Kolkata in first season and won ISL title playing for Kolkata side. Armenian moved to Chennaiyin FC for second season and repeated same performance. Edel is only goalkeeper in the history to win ISL title twice. He appeared in 13 matches for Chennaiyin, kept six clean sheets with 37 saves and 90 minutes per goal conceding ratio.
Edel was demanding player in Indian Super League at that time. He left Chennaiyin FC after that season and joined FC Pune City where he reunited with his ATK boss Antonio Lopez Habas.

Amrinder Singh (ISL 3)

ISL 3 Golden Glove winner Amrinder Singh

After spending loan spell at ATK for second season, Amrinder joined Mumbai City FC on loan from Bengaluru FC. Amrinder just played 6 matches for Mumbai City FC in third edition and kept 5 clean sheets with only three goals conceded. Thus he became first Indian goalkeeper to win ISL Golden Glove award. ISL Golden Glove helped Amrinder for permanent move to Islanders and emerged as highest paid Indian goalkeeper ever.

Amrinder continued amazing performance in Islander’s goal and finished 2017-18 with 59 saves. 27 year old shot-stopper is still contracted with Mumbai City and served as captain of club.

Subrata Paul (ISL 4)

ISL 4 Golden Glove winner Subrata Paul

Former Mumbai City captain spent one season at NorthEast United and joined Jamshedpur for their debut season. He kept clean sheet in his debut match against his former club NorthEast United. He was awarded Golden Glove after keeping seven clean sheets in 18 matches with 102 minutes per goal ratio. 33 year old veteran is very famous for his nickname ‘Spiderman Paul’ among fans. Paul stayed with the Red Miners for next two seasons before joining Hyderabad FC fortress for 2020-21 season.

Gurpreet Singh Sandhu (ISL 5&6)

ISL Golden Glove winner Gurpreet Singh Sandhu

Gurpreet became first Indian to play in European top division league and UEFA Europa League while playing for Stabæk. He joined Bengaluru FC from Norwegian side for undisclosed transfer fee as club was gearing up for debut season in ISL.

Sandhu fell inches short and finished second in Golden Glove as well in finals on his debut ISL season. ‘The Great Indian Wall’ made an iconic comeback in 2018-19 season and kept seven clean sheets in 20 appearances. Sandhu’s stunning performance led Bengaluru to win ISL title and finally bagged Golden Glove award.

Indian team vice captain faced challenge of repeating same run in 2019-20 season and he somehow individually managed it. Bengaluru FC reached semifinals and he claimed another Golden Glove. But his individual performance improvised as he kept record breaking 11 clean sheets in 19 appearances. He extended his contract with Bengaluru FC until May 2023. Gurpreet became first player to win ISL Golden Glove twice and has golden opportunity to claim hat-trick in 2020-21 season.


Check Also

SNQ Daily, 30 July: Newcastle, Reus, Infantino, Anand

Updating our readers with major sports news and updates of 30 July 2020. 30 July Bulletin …