Cricket - Featured - March 8, 2020

Hardik, Dhawan, Bhuvi in India’s squad for SA ODIs

Hardik Pandya, Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Shikhar Dhawan return to India’s ODI squad for the South Africa series. The trio is back after having recovered from their respective injuries. Rohit Sharma, however, has still been kept out of the mix. Rohit sustained a calf injury in New Zealand last month due to which he is out of the squad. 

Meanwhile, Kedar Jadhav, Shivam Dube, Mayank Agarwal, Shardul Thakur and Mohammed Shami have been left out as well. India opened with debutants Prithvi Shaw and Mayank Agarwal in New Zealand. While Dhawan returns, Agarwal loses his spot as he was Rohit’s replacement. Shaw, however, has retained his spot. Shubman Gill has also been called up to the squad. Gill made his ODI debut in New Zealand a year ago. 

Hardik Pandya last played for India back in September. He then underwent a back surgery. Dhawan suffered from a shoulder injury against Australia in January. Bhuvneshwar was also out with injury for a long time. Hardik was scheduled to return during the New Zealand tour. However, he pulled out of the India A tour as well. As reported by the BCCI, his rehab was taking “longer than expected”. 

Hardik, Dhawan, Bhuvi in India's squad for SA ODIs
Hardik Pandya in DY Patil T20 Tournament.

Hardik, however, has been wrecking havoc recently in the DY Patil T20 Tournament. His scores of 46, 105, 38 and 158* show that he is more than ready to take the field. Shivam Dube therefore loses his place with Pandya’s return. 

In the pace department, Navdeep Saini retains his place. With Shami and Shardul out, he will complete the attack alongside Bumrah and Bhuvi.

This is also the first squad that the partially new selection panel has picked. Sunil Joshi replaced MSK Prasad as the chairman while Harvinder Singh replaced Gagan Khoda. 

The ODI series will begin on March 12 in Dharamsala.  Lucknow will host the second game on March 15. The third match will be payed in Kolkata on March 18.

Squad :

Shikhar Dhawan, Prithvi Shaw, Virat Kohli (capt), KL Rahul, Manish Pandey, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant, Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Jasprit Bumrah, Navdeep Saini, Kuldeep Yadav, Shubman Gill. 

Check Also

Australia Climb to Top of ICC Test and T20I Rankings

As per the latest ICC rankings, Australia is the new number 1 ranked Test and T20I side (m…