Cricket - Featured - January 15, 2020

ICC Awards and Teams of the Year 2019

Indian skipper Virat Kohli has been named captain of the ICC ODI and Test teams of the year. As a result of a wonderful season, Kohli stays World No.1 in the rankings for both formats. Apart from Kohli, four other Indians also find themselves in the ICC ODI and Test teams of the year. Double-centurion Mayank Agarwal features in the Test team, while Rohit is in the ODI team. On the other hand, Kuldeep Yadav is in the ODI team as well. Mohammed Shami also finds a spot in the ODI team. 

The ICC Teams of the Year 2019:

ODI Team of the Year (in batting order): 

Rohit Sharma, Shai Hope, Virat Kohli (captain), Babar Azam, Kane Williamson, Ben Stokes, Jos Buttler (wicketkeeper), Mitchell Starc, Trent Boult, Mohammed Shami, Kuldeep Yadav

Test Team of the Year (in batting order):

Mayank Agarwal, Tom Latham, Marnus Labuschagne, Virat Kohli (captain), Steve Smith, Ben Stokes, BJ Watling (wicketkeeper), Pat Cummins, Mitchell Starc, Neil Wagner, Nathan Lyon.

The ICC Awards for the Year 2019 : 

Rohit Sharma is adjudged the ICC ODI Cricketer of the Year. Rohit is the top run-getter in the ODI format in 2019. He scored as many as 7 centuries, out of which 5 came at the 2019 World Cup.

Virat Kohli does not get the top award. However, the Indian skipper baggs the Spirit of Cricket award. He is awarded for his gesture to the crowd in a league stage game against Australia at the World Cup. Virat gestured towards the crowd to cheer former Aussie captain Steve Smith as the crowd booed him. He certainly won hearts with this gesture. 

Also, Australia’s Marnus Labuschagne has been named ICC men’s emerging cricketer of the year. Labuschagne scored 1104 runs in 11 matches, therefore having a dream Test season. 

Ben Stokes won the Sir Garfield Sobers Trophy for the World Player of the Year. Stokes played a key role for England as a result of which they won the 2019 ICC World Cup. 

Pat Cummins has been named Test Cricketer of the Year. Cummins had 59 wickets to his name in Test cricket last season. 

India pacer Deepak Chahar got the T20I Performance of the Year award. He is awarded for his unbelievable figures of 6/7 against Bangladesh. This also included a hat-trick. 

Richard Illingworth, former England Test cricketer, bagged the ICC Umpire of the Year award.

Scotland’s Kyle Coetzer, who averaged 48.88 in 2019, won the Associate Cricketer of the Year award. 

Full List of awards:

Ben Stokes: World Player of the Year. 

Pat Cummins: 2019 Test Cricketer of the Year.

Rohit Sharma: 2019 ODI Cricketer of the Year.

Virat Kohli: 2019 Spirit of Cricket Award.

 Marnus Labuschagne: 2019 ICC Men’s Emerging Cricketer. 

Deepak Chahar: 2019 T20I Performer of the Year (6/7 against Bangladesh).

 Kyle Coetzer: 2019 Associate Cricketer of the Year. 

Richard Illingworth: 2019 Umpire of the Year.

Check Also

Shami gives a fitting response to Bumrah’s critics

India pacer Mohammed Shami has come in defense of Jasprit Bumrah, answering the criticism …