Cricket - Featured - Indian Premier League - November 22, 2019

IPL 2020: Player Retention and Release: Complete Overview of RCB and SRH


The 13th edition of the Indian Premiere League (IPL) is almost around the corner. With the auctions set to be held on 19th December, teams have begun preparations. The list of players retained and released by franchises is already out. Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) and Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) are the two teams on focus in this article.


The Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) had another dismal season in 2019. RCB finished at the bottom (8th) thereby failing to make the playoffs for 3 consecutive years now. The Bangalore franchise has gone on a complete overhaul ahead of the auctions. Looking to rebuild, RCB has released as many as 12 players. RCB let go of some big names. Those include Marcus Stoinis, Shimron Hetmyer and Dale Steyn. The focus will be on roping in players who can fill the voids, rather than just big names. 

Here is the list of released players by RCB: 

Marcus Stoinis (INR 6.2 Crores), Shimron Hetmyer (INR 4 Crores), Nathan Coulter-Nile (INR 2.2 Crores), Akshdeep Nath (INR 3.6 Crores), De Grandhomme (INR 2.2 Crores), Prayas Barman (INR 1.5 Crores), Tim Southee (INR 1 Crore), Kulwant Khejroliya (INR 85 Lakh), Heinrich Klaasen (INR 50 Lakh), Himmat Singh (INR 65 Lakh), Milind Kumar (INR 20 Lakh),Dale Steyn.

RCB SRH Player release

RCB goes into the auction with highest available slots (12 domestic, 6 overseas). They have a purse of INR 27.90 Crores. 

Players retained are as follows: 

Batsman: Virat Kohli, AB de Villiers, Parthiv Patel, Gurkeerat Singh Mann, Devdutt Padikkal. 

Bowlers: Mohammed Siraj, Navdeep Saini, Umesh Yadav,Yuzvendra Chahal. 

All Rounders: Moeen Ali, Washington Sundar, Shivam Dube, Pawan Negi. 


The Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) had a decent outing in the 2019 edition. SRH finished fourth on the points table, qualifying for the playoffs. However, they ended up losing to Delhi Capitals in the eliminator. SRH has retained the majority of its players and made only 5 releases. They appear as a well balanced side. However, there are few loopholes they would like to fix going into the auction. 

List of players released by SRH: 

Shakib-Al-Hasan (INR 2 Crores), Deepak Hooda (INR 3.6 Crores), Martin Guptill (INR 1 Crore), Ricky Bhui (INR 20 Lakh), Yusuf Pathan (INR 1.9 Crores). 

SRH RCB player release

SRH had to let go of Shakib following his suspension. SRH has retained 18 players. Thereby, it suggests they are not looking for a makeover. They have 7 slots including 2 foreign slots. The balance purse going into the auction is INR 17 Crores. 

List of retained players: 

Batsman: Kane Williamson, David Warner, Manish Pandey, Jonny Bairstow, Wriddhiman Saha, Abhishek Sharma, Shreevats Goswami. 

Bowlers: Khaleel Ahmed, Sandeep Sharma, Siddharth Kaul, T Natarajan, Basil Thampi, Bhuvneshwar Kumar, Billy Stanlake, Shahbaz Nadeem. 

All Rounders: Vijay Shankar, Rashid Khan, Mohammad Nabi. 


Check Also

Amazon hold nerves to post 18-run win

Amazon took on Dell EMC in a relatively close encounter in their Brigade Cup 2020 league m…