Cricket - Featured - Indian Premier League - April 19, 2020

IPL – Greatest Players of All Time

On the special occasion of the 13th anniversary of the IPL, the greatest players of all times were announced. MS Dhoni and Rohit Sharma both were picked up as the Best Captain of all time of IPL. Mr.360, Ab de Villiers, was chosen in the batsman category. Sri Lankan pacer Lasith Malinga in the bowling section and Australia’s Shane Watson was chosen in all-rounder category. Virat Kohli was voted the IPL’s greatest Indian batsman for being the highest scorer in the history of the tournament.

Greatest captain of all time

The jury was split right down the middle to make their pick on the greatest ever captain. Dhoni’s case got stronger because of taking the #YellowArmy to 10 playoffs out of the 11 seasons. However, Rohit has also proved as the most successful captain by winning 4 titles in 7 finals they have played. Therefore, they both were announced as joint greatest captain of all times.

IPL - Greatest Players of All Time

Greatest Batsman of all time

AB de Villiers was chosen as the GOAT in the batsman category. It was a tough choice. The shortlist comprised of players such as Suresh Raina and Virat Kohli, who are among the leading run-scorers.

Greatest Bowler of all time

Sri Lankan pacer Lasith Malinga was selected as the GOAT in the bowling section. He is the leading wicket-taker of the IPL so far with 170 scalps in 122 matches. Therefore, he was selected as GOAT bowler due to his consistency over the years.

Greatest All rounder of all time

Australia’s Shane Watson was selected as GOATs in all-rounders category. His consistency leads him to take over Dwayne Bravo and Andre Russell. Watson has helped RR and CSK to IPL titles.

Greatest coach of All Time

The calm and composed Stephen Fleming (Chennai Super Kings) emerged winner. He pipped Trevor Bayliss of KKR by a small margin.

The IPL GOATs selection Jury

The jury consisted of 50 members. There were 20 former cricketers, senior sports journalists (10), statisticians & analysts (10), broadcasters (7) and anchors (3) and analysts. A shortlist of 3 names based on the 50-member jury’s votes were then deliberated by Gautam Gambhir, Ashish Nehra, Kevin Peterson, Irfan Pathan and Danny Morrison, who picked up the winners.

Check Also

Rohit Sharma’s success is because of Dhoni, Says Gautam Gambhir

Former Indian cricketer Gautam Gambhir says credit of Rohit Sharma’s success goes to…