Cricket - Featured - December 27, 2019

Kohli, Dhoni in Wisden Teams of the decade

Virat Kohli has been named captain of the Test team of the decade announced by Wisden. On the other hand, MS Dhoni finds himself only in the Wisden ODI team of the decade. 

Alongside Indian skipper Virat Kohli, the Test team features ace cricketers from across the globe. Off-spinner Ravichandran Ashwin is the only other Indian on the list. Kohli has amassed 7202 runs from 94 games in the longest format. He averages 54.97 which also includes 27 tons as well as 25 half-centuries. On the other hand, Ashwin has 362 wickets to his name from 70 tests. It also includes 27 five-wicket hauls. 

Meanwhile, opener Rohit Sharma and MS Dhoni find themselves in the Wisden ODI team of the decade. Virat Kohli is also present in the list. 

Rohit, Dhoni accompany Kohli in ODI Team

Kohli, Dhoni in Wisden Teams of the decade
Virat Kohli

Just as in Tests, Kohli has had an equally amazing decade in the 50-over format. Kohli has 11609 runs from 242 games. Here as well, he averages well over 50 (59.84). The Run-Machine has 43 hundreds and 55 half-centuries to his credit. 

Rohit has 8944 runs from as many as 221 ODIs. He averages 49.14 with 28 centuries and 43 half-centuries. Rohit ended 2019 with phenomenal numbers as he retained his 2nd spot in the ICC ODI rankings. He amassed 2442 runs across all formats this year. 

MS Dhoni has been away ever since India’s semi-final exit in the World Cup. He missed the West Indies tour as well as the home series against South Africa and Bangladesh. Dhoni has 10773 runs from 350 ODIs with 10 tons and 73 fifties. 

The Wisden’s Decade in review was decided by Lawrence Booth, Jo Harman, John Stern, Phil Walker and Yas Rana. 

Wisden’s Test team of the decade:

1.Alastair Cook (England) 2. David Warner (Australia) 3. Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka) 4. Steve Smith (Australia) 5. Virat Kohli (India) 6. Ben Stokes (England) 7. AB de Villiers (South Africa) 8. R Ashwin (India) 9. Dale Steyn (South Africa) 10. Kagiso Rabada (South Africa) 11. James Anderson (England). 

Wisden’s ODI team of the decade:

1. Rohit Sharma (India) 2. Virat Kohli (India) 3. David Warner (Australia) 4. AB de Villiers (South Africa) 5. Jos Buttler (England) 6. Shakib Al Hasan (Bangladesh) 7. M.S. Dhoni 8. Lasith Malinga 9. Mitchell Starc (Australia) 10. Trent Boult (New Zealand) 11. Dale Steyn (South Africa). 

Check Also

Paul Stirling – The Promising Irish Opener

Paul Stirling has been one of the best batsman to have played for Ireland. The Irish opene…