Rishabh Pant has been ruled out of the second ODI against Australia. The keeper-batsman has not yet recovered from the concussion he suffered during the first ODI. While the team has reached Rajkot, Rishabh will travel to Bengaluru. As a result of standard concussion protocols, he will travel to Bengaluru for rehabilitation. Rishabh Pant is the first international from the country to be ruled out as a result of the ICC concussion protocol.
“He (Pant) is ruled out of the 2nd ODI. His availability for the final ODI will be based on how he responds during the rehabilitation protocol,” BCCI said in a statement.
Rishabh didn’t take the field for the second innings as he was hit on the helmet while batting. He was hit by a Pat Cummins bouncer, which also resulted in him being dismissed.
“After getting hit on his helmet while batting in the 1st ODI, Rishabh got a concussion and took no further part in the game. He was then taken to the hospital for overnight monitoring under a specialist.
The release has however, stated that he is stable and under control.
“He is stable and all his scan reports are clear. He has been discharged from the hospital and will head to NCA, Bengaluru to undergo his rehabilitation protocol,” the release further stated.
Rishabh will further be assessed in Bengaluru
The third match is in Bengaluru on 19th. Therefore, it is expected that his physical condition shall be monitored there for the next 72 hours. After this, a call will be taken as to whether he will play the final ODI or not.
Rishabh scored 28 off 33 balls in the first ODI in Mumbai. While Rahul kept wickets, Manish Pandey came in as an on-field replacement for Pant.
Australia trashed India by 10-wickets in the first ODI. This also their biggest win against India as they also won with 74 balls to spare.
India pacer Mohammed Shami has come in defense of Jasprit Bumrah, answering the criticism …