Cricket - Featured - 5 days ago

Samson exclusion from T20I squad a fair call?

Sanju Samson was left out as BCCI announced a 16-member squad on Sunday for the New Zealand T20I series. India will play a five match T20I series in New Zealand beginning on 24th January. 

As expected, there were not many changes in the selections. Rohit Sharma and Mohammed Shami are back in the side as they got some much-needed rest. However, backup wicket-keeper batsman Sanju Samson was dropped from the side. Samson played India’s last T20I against Sri Lanka on January 10th. 

End of the road for Sanju Samson?

While Sanju Samson is talented no doubt, his career has been topsy-turvy. His international career seems to be getting nowhere as he was dropped after playing just one game. He played only 2 balls in the recent Pune T20I where he scored a six. This game came after over 4 years since he made his India debut. Therefore, he has played only 2 matches for India in his start-stop career so far. 

His fans are highly disappointed by BCCI over Samson not being selected. They have expressed the same on various social media platforms. 

Virat Kohli will lead the team against New Zealand in the 5 T20Is. The first T20I will be played on January 24 that also kicks-off the tour. India will also play 3 ODIs and 2 Tests against the Kiwis. 

Jasprit Bumrah has retained his place in the side. Bumrah made a successful come back in the T20Is against Sri Lanka after a long injury lay-off. Opener Shikhar Dhawan has also retained his place in the squad. 

All-rounder Hardik Pandya failed to make the cut. He could not pass the mandatory fitness test in Mumbai on Saturday. He was expected to stage a comeback with the New Zealand series. However, he was pulled out of the India A squad as well for the New Zealand tour.

T20I Squad for tour of New Zealand:

Virat Kohli (captain), Rohit Sharma (vice-captain), KL Rahul, Shikhar Dhawan, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wk), Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Manish Pandey, Shivam Dube, Jasprit Bumrah, Shardul Thakur, Navdeep Saini, Washington Sundar, Ravindra Jadeja and Mohammed Shami.


Check Also

Dhoni left out of BCCI’s central contracts

MS Dhoni has not been included in BCCI’s central contract list for players. Since th…